Proofreader Services

For more information about my proof reading services, click here.

2017 Goals

  • write to my grandmother every six weeks or so
  • call my moms every month or so
  • cook/eat better
  • clean out and organize my writng/craft room
  • re-institute the cleaning plan
  • publish six books by September 2017
  • reach 120 to 125 pounds
  • walk the dog three times a week

Followers

Blog Archive

Blog Archive

You can replace this text by going to "Layout" and then "Page Elements" section. Edit " About "
Monday, December 2, 2013

Refreshed...?


Yeah, for the most part.

After most of nine days away from work, I am back. What I wouldn't give for another nine days and another nine and another. In other words, I wish I didn't have to work. DH keeps promising that eventually he'll hire someone to do most of what I do and then I can work from home. And I'm holding on to that promise.

So if I did work from home or was able to give up work completely, what would my day entail?

Well, cleaning for one. I'd definitely get back on a regular cleaning schedule and those once-in-a-great-while tasks would happen more regularly. I had a schedule once upon a time and it worked really well.

I'd cook too. It's hard to cook a tasty delicious meal when you get home at 5:15 and are already starving!!! If I were home I'd be able to start soups and stews and casseroles in the middle of the day and have them ready at a decent mealtime.

I'd exercise everyday. Well, I'd intend to, anyhow, since I'd have all those lovely hours to fill. Plus, then I could eat all those tasty meals I'd be cooking without worrying too much about carbs and calories.

And, of course, I'd proofread and write. There'd definitely be time for one or both everyday.

I'd do crafts and bake and basically be Suzy Homemaker. I should have been born in the 1930s or 40s when it was expected and acceptable and not frowned upon to aspire to that. But you know, I like being at home taking care of my family.

What about you?

Career Woman or Suzy Homemaker?


6 comments:

Regina Richards said...

I've been Suzy Homemaker for 20 years now and I admit when the kids were still home I absolutely loved it. But now that it's just Steve and me, I'm not as enchanted with it. I tried joining a lot of interest groups to get additional human interaction, but while a few are certainly life-enhancing, too many just start to fill like time-filling rather than actually accomplishing anything. So I'm still exploring how I want to use all this newly acquired time.

Jen FitzGerald said...

Good luck, Regina. I hope you find something fun, fulfilling, and possibly profitable as well.

Anonymous said...

I was career woman, homemaker, career woman, and now I think I've combined the two (fingers crossed) by having a career from home. Only time will tell :-)

Nancy

Lara Lacombe said...

I'd love to be able to work from home, but sometimes I wonder if it would really be satisfying. The grass is always greener, and all that... :)

Jen FitzGerald said...

My fingers are crossed for you, too, Nancy!

I hear ya, Lara.

Blogger said...

Discover how 1,000's of individuals like YOU are working for a LIVING from home and are fulfilling their dreams right NOW.
GET FREE ACCESS INSTANLY

About Me

My Photo
Jen FitzGerald
Thanks for stopping by one of my little corners of the world wide web. So, a little about me...My husband and I have been married for twenty years and we have three adult children although our youngest is still in high school. We've lived in Texas for fifteen years and for the rest of the story, click here.
View my complete profile

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *

Follow by Email

Jen's Glossary of Terms

  • DH = my husband
  • my Brown Eyed Girl = my oldest daughter
  • DD = my Darling Daughter (the younger one)
  • Sonshine or Marching Band Boy = my son
  • NT = the North Texas chapter of RWA
  • RWA = Romance Writers of America